Gridiron Greats Dinner

As part of my Thesis work, I will traveling again to the Gridiron Greats dinner in Novi, Michigan  on July 23 and 24.

http://www.gridirongreats.org/

I went in Oct 2009 with my dear friend, Tricia Zweier.  My goal was to interview dad’s teammate, Al Wistert.  He was being honored at the dinner.  I got a great interview!  Al and dad played for the Philadelphia Eagles together, however, they also played on the same college all-star team.  Wistert played for Michigan and dad played for Indiana.

One of the main goals of my research is to figure out who dad was as a teammate and a person when he was a star football player.  I did not know my dad when he was playing.  He was 52 years old when I was born.  I have never seen him play live, only video of him playing.

My reason for going back to the dinner is to get more interviews.  Mike Ditka will be there.  When he was enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, he told me that my dad was one of his heroes growing up.  His words meant the world to me at the time and they still do.  Also, Pat Summerall and Joe Schmidt will be there and many others who played against my dad.

Leave a Reply

